Minutes of the Carrick on Shannon Municipal District Annual Meeting held in the Council Chamber, Aras An Chontae, Carrick-on-Shannon on Friday, 28 June 2024 at 10.00 am

Members Present:

Councillor Cormac Flynn Councillor Maeve Reynolds Councillor Sean McGowan Councillor Paddy Farrell Councillor Des Guckian

Apologies: Councillor Enda Stenson (Cathaoirleach)

Officials Present: Justin Fannon, Senior Executive Officer Housing Capital

Kieran Brett, Meetings Administrator Aideen Kelly, Assistant Staff Officer

Votes of Sympathy

The Members extended a vote of sympathy to the following:

• The Doran family on the death of Mr Patrick Doran, RIP

CMD.70.23 <u>Election of Cathaoirleach of Carrick-on-Shannon MD</u>

Mr Kieran Brett invited nominations for the Election of Cathaoirleach of Carrick on-Shannon Municipal District.

Councillor Sean McGowan proposed Councillor Paddy Farrell for the position of Cathaoirleach of the Carrick on Shannon Municipal District for the term 2024/2025. This was seconded by Councillor Maeve Reynolds.

Councillor Des Guckian proposed himself (Cllr. Des Guckian) as Cathaoirleach of the Carrick on Shannon Municipal District for the term 2024/2025.

As there was no seconder for Councillor Des Guckian's proposal, Councillor Paddy Farrell was elected as Cathaoirleach of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District for the term 2024/2025.

Proposed by Councillor Sean McGowan seconded by Councillor Maeve Reynolds

"That Councillor Paddy Farrell be elected Cathaoirleach of the Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District for the term 2024/2025."

CMD.71.23 <u>Election of Leas Cathaoirleach of Carrick-on-Shannon MD</u>

Councillor Paddy Farrell invited nominations for the Election of Leas Cathaoirleach of Carrick on-Shannon Municipal District.

Councillor Paddy Farrell proposed Councillor Maeve Reynolds as Leas-Cathaoirleach of Carrick on Shannon Municipal District. This was seconded by Cllr Sean McGowan.

Proposed by Councillor Paddy Farrell seconded by Councillor Sean McGowan;

"That Councillor Maeve Reynolds be elected Leas Cathaoirleach of the Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District for the term 2024/2025."

Councillor Des Guckian expressed his opposition to the manner in which the coalition parties appointed their nominees to all the roles within the Council. He expressed the view that he had been given a mandate by the electorate and was being denied his democratic right by the members of the coalition and as a result he was considering resigning his position as an elected member. Cllr Guckian left the meeting at 10.06am, in protest, over this matter.

CMD.72.23 Approval of Standing Orders

Proposed by Councillor Sean McGowan seconded by Councillor Paddy Farrell;

It was agreed that the standing orders would be approved.

CMD.73.23 Nominate one member to the Leitrim Biodiveristy Working Group

Proposed by Councillor Sean McGowan seconded by Councillor Maeve Reynolds;

"That Councillor Paddy Farrell be nominated as the one member to the Leitrim Biodiversity Working Group."

This concluded the business of the meeting at 10.15 am

Monday, 8 July 2024

Date:

SIGNED:		_ SIGNED:	Kieran Brett
			Riciali Diett
	Cllr. Paddy Farrell,		Meetings Administrator
	Cathaoirleach, Carrick on		
	Shannon Municipal District		